Americans and Canadians can now Enter France Without Travel Restrictions

Travelers coming from the United States and Canada can now enter the Republic of France restriction-free, according to an announcement from France’s Journal Officiel.

Canada and the US are now on France’s ‘green list’ of countries that can enter restriction-free for ‘non-essential’ purposes. This means that essentially all Americans and Canadians can enter France without the need for quarantine, vaccination, or any other forms of red-tape that could hold up travel, according to the announcement.

The decision will be active from 17 June 2021 forward.

‘Non-essential’ travel includes anything other than medical and military staff. Essentially, Americans and Canadians are now free to enter France without worry of being stopped and turned around at the border or in the airport.

Travelers will, however, need to present a negative PCR test before boarding planes bound for France. The test should be no older than 72 hours (3 days). In addition, if a traveler is vaccinated and opts out of the PCR test, they will need to give proof of vaccination before boarding.

Previously, travelers from the US and Canada were classified as ‘orange’ and needed to undergo a 7-day quarantine upon arrival in France.

Other countries that fall under the ‘green’ list include Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Singapore, and South Korea. All travelers from ‘green’ countries enjoy restriction-free travel outside of the regular visa requirements.

Other countries that are classified as ‘orange’ include Afghanistan, the Maldives, Paraguay, and Turkey. Travelers from these countries will likely need to undergo quarantine.

France’s color system is based on the circulation of Covid-19 throughout the country in question, and how many new cases of the virus are found in every 100,000 residents.

With the introduction of the EU Digital Covid-19 Certificate, it is likely that France and other Member States will continue to reduce their travel restrictions put in place in response to Covid-19.

To read France’s Journal Officiel announcement, click this link.

Related information