EU Signs Aviation Agreement with Armenia to Promote Business, Travel, and Personal Opportunities

The EU has now signed a new aviation agreement with Armenia to allow for more-free air travel and competition between airline operators, according to a press release published by the European Commission.

According to the Commission, the agreement will benefit people flying between Armenia and the EU by allowing Armenian airlines to fly directly from anywhere in Armenia to anywhere in the EU, and any EU airline to fly directly from anywhere in the EU to anywhere in Armenia.

Further, it will aid in job creation for both EU and third country nationals.

It will also promote better airline service by removing airline restrictions between the EU and Armenia, which will promote more competition and ensure a fair playing field.

The main aim of the agreement, however, is that it will facilitate people-to-people contacts and expand commercial, economic, and personal opportunities between EU nationals and Armenians. It also serves the broader purpose of aiding in implementing the EU-Armenia Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement.

Combined, the benefits of the agreement include more travel, job, commercial, travel, personal, and diplomatic opportunities between the EU and Armenia to boost the partnership being created between the two.

“The Agreement signed today will allow the EU and Armenia to strengthen their aviation relations through gradual market integration. It is a key stepping-stone in our strategy to achieve closer cooperation with our neighbours. The agreement will allow for more travelling choice for citizens, new opportunities for the aviation industry, and better connectivity with new routes and destinations to the benefit of consumers, the tourism sector and people-to-people contacts,” said Commissioner for Mobility and Transport Adina Valean.

The EU has been signing agreements with several third countries such as Armenia to create a Common Aviation Area (CAA). The CAA is designed to promote partnerships between the EU and CAA countries to allow for “gradual market opening” between the EU and the partner countries.

In order for a third country to sign into the CAA, they must align their aviation regulation with the EU’s aviation rules and standards in safety, air traffic management, security, the environment, economic regulation, competition, consumer protection, and social aspects.

Compliance with EU regulations and standards will be monitored by the European Commission as well as the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).

Other countries that have signed into the EU’s CAA include Ukraine, countries of the Western Balkans, Morocco, Georgia, Jordan, Moldova, Israel, and Qatar with similar benefits and conditions for joining.

To read the Commission’s press release for the CAA with Armenia, click this link.

To read the Commission’s Q&A page regarding the agreement, click this link.

For more information about the EU’s agreement with Ukraine, click this link.

For more information about the EU’s agreement with Qatar, click this link.

Related information

European union flag with immigrants

What Is An EU Citizen?

The term EU citizen refers to any individual who holds citizenship in a country that is part of the European Union. This includes citizens from

EU residence permit

What is an EU Residence Permit?

An EU residence permit is an official document issued by a member state of the European Union that allows a non-EU national to live and

schengen flag

How Can A Country Join The Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area comprises 26 European countries that have abolished all passport and immigration controls at their mutual borders. It functions as a single country

EHIC card

What is the EHIC?

The EHIC is one of the most important documents for citizens of European Union member states. It stands for the European Health Insurance Card and

turkey flag

Why Is Turkey Not In The EU?

Turkey has been an official candidate for membership in the European Union since 1999, more than 20 years after its first application. The country has