Iceland to Open Borders to 15 Nationalities with Fewer Travel Restrictions

The government of Iceland has officially announced that they will be allowing residents of 15 non-EU or Schengen states to enter, according to a press release published by the Icelandic government.

The decision is in-line with the European Union’s guidelines for who should be allowed to enter.

Nationals of the states that will now be allowed to enter Iceland are:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China (but this is subject to change, based on China’s reciprocity with Iceland).

The abovementioned nationalities will now be allowed to enter Iceland. However, travelers will need to pre-register in a system provided by the Icelandic government in order to be approved for entry. After entering the country, travelers will be obligated to undergo either a 14-day quarantine or a PCR test upon arrival.

“All passengers arriving from these states must complete pre-registration and choose to undergo a PCR test or a 14-day quarantine upon arrival in Iceland,” the press release reads.

The press release also stated that the list of approved nationalities will be revised at least every two weeks. The list could become longer or shorter depending on the epidemiological situation in other countries, and how much of a threat they could pose to Iceland.

EU and Schengen citizens are also free to travel to Iceland. However, they will also be required to pre-register with the Icelandic government as well as undergo a 14-day quarantine or a PCR test upon arrival in the country.

PCR tests are COVID-19 tests that detect the antigen of the virus, rather than the body’s immune system’s response to the virus, also known as antibodies.

It is still unclear exactly when Iceland will be open to all nationalities that were once able to come in.

Related information