Several Member States Not To Allow Entry of Any Third-Country Nationals

Amid the European Council’s recommendations on 30 June to lift travel restrictions for 15 third-countries, several Schengen and EU Member States are not following the guidance laid out for them.

So far it is known that Austria, Belgium, Finland, Hungary, and Sweden are not planning to follow the Council’s guidance until further notice.

The individual announcements come due to each Member State’s belief that the current global situation does not necessarily facilitate allowing nationals of almost any other country in.

It is still not known exactly which countries’ nationals will be allowed to enter the abovementioned Member States and apply for a Schengen Visa.

On 30 June 2020, the European Council released recommendations to all Member States to allow residents of 15 third-countries to enter.

The countries recommended on 30 June were: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China (given that China reciprocates the action).

The Council’s decision to recommend allowing nationals of the abovementioned countries to enter the EU and Schengen Area come as a way to try and spur the European economy, which has been lagging in recent months due to COVID-19 related shutdowns, reports.

Although recommendations were laid out by the European Council, they were not legally binding statements.

“The Council recommendation is not a legally binding instrument. The authorities of the member states remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation. They may, in full transparency, lift only progressively travel restrictions towards countries listed,” a press release published by the Council reads.

Talks of travel restrictions for non-EU nationals formally began in the EU on 16 March 2020. Since, there have been few lifted, however, some Member States are allowing nearly all third-country nationals to enter as of recently.

It is still unknown when entry to the Schengen Area and Schengen Visas will once again be available to all.

Related information

European union flag with immigrants

What Is An EU Citizen?

The term EU citizen refers to any individual who holds citizenship in a country that is part of the European Union. This includes citizens from

EU residence permit

What is an EU Residence Permit?

An EU residence permit is an official document issued by a member state of the European Union that allows a non-EU national to live and

schengen flag

How Can A Country Join The Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area comprises 26 European countries that have abolished all passport and immigration controls at their mutual borders. It functions as a single country

EHIC card

What is the EHIC?

The EHIC is one of the most important documents for citizens of European Union member states. It stands for the European Health Insurance Card and

turkey flag

Why Is Turkey Not In The EU?

Turkey has been an official candidate for membership in the European Union since 1999, more than 20 years after its first application. The country has