Some Member States Open Up to Tourists from Third Countries in May 2021

As some Member States have begun to relax their travel restrictions, which have been in place for more than a year now, there has been little-to-no coordination between countries to figure out how to safely open their borders in a fashion that would not confuse travelers.

As a result, several Member States remain completely closed while others are starting to allow third country nationals to enter their borders.

Some of the Member States already allowing international travel will be listed below:


After 14 May 2021, Greece has opened their borders to vaccinated travelers from the United Kingdom, United States, European Union, and Israel. This will also include travelers who can present a negative Covid-19 test or proof of prior infection.

In addition, there will be no quarantine requirement for people who fit the aforementioned criteria, and the country’s 12:30 p.m. (00:30) curfew will not apply to tourists.


Vaccinated travelers from the UK, EU, and Israel will be allowed to enter Italy without the need for quarantine. These passengers, however, will be required to take a Covid-19 test on arrival.

Passengers from the US will be allowed to enter Italy if they come on a Delta Covid-tested flight.

The Netherlands

The Netherlands, boasting some of the strictest travel restrictions, is allowing vaccinated travelers from Portugal, Malta, Ireland, Thailand, Rwanda, the former Dutch colonies of Aruba, Curacao, and Sint Maarten, as well as some Greek islands.


Vaccinated travelers from anywhere can enter Iceland without having to undergo a 5-day quarantine, given that they can provide proof of an EU or WHO-approved vaccine. Russian and Chinese vaccines do not apply to this rule.

For people who are not vaccinated, a 5-day quarantine is required as well as a negative Covid-19 test result before and after arrival, as well as at the end of the quarantine period.


Cyprus is allowing vaccinated travelers from 65 different countries, including the US, to enter without being subject to quarantine. For unvaccinated travelers, the quarantine requirement depends on which country they are from, and where that country falls in Cyprus’s rating system.


Poland is allowing vaccinated travelers from some countries to enter. This includes EU and Schengen Member States, but also Georgia, Japan, Canada, New Zealand, Thailand, South Korea, Tunisia, and Australia.


All vaccinated travelers are permitted to enter Estonia, given that they can provide proof of vaccination. The country is also allowing people who have recovered from Covid-19 to enter.


Vaccinated travelers will not need to quarantine when arriving in Romania. If someone arriving in the country is not vaccinated, however, they might not be permitted to enter, or they might be allowed to enter and subject to a 14-day quarantine. Unvaccinated travelers from the US will need to undergo quarantine.

Related information