Travel Ban: Travelers from Georgia or Tunisia No Longer Allowed to Enter Germany

From 09 October 2020, travelers coming from Georgia and Tunisia to Germany will no longer be allowed to enter.

The news comes in the form of a press release published by the German Ministry of Interior on 08 October 2020.

The new blanket entry ban is due to the two countries being classified as “risk areas” by German authorities tasked with handling entry bans for public health concerns.

“Since Georgia and Tunisia were declared risk areas on 7 October 2020, the entry restrictions that were lifted on 2 July 2020 for travellers from certain countries are to be reintroduced for travellers from those two countries. The restrictions will enter into force on 9 October 2020 at 00.00,” the press release reads.

The new entry bans come as the German government is claiming to have eased entry bans, especially blanket entry bans; however, new travel restrictions are still being introduced amid the seventh consecutive month of travel restrictions and entry bans being in place.

“When the pandemic situation partially improved in various countries, Germany considerably eased the entry restrictions that had been in place since 17 March 2020, allowing unrestricted entry for people arriving from countries that were listed as safe. This implemented Council Recommendation (EU) 2020/912 on the coordinated and gradual lifting of temporary restrictions,” the press release reads.

According to the press release, the only persons allowed to enter Germany from Georgia and/or Tunisia are people serving “an important role” or having an urgent need to travel to Germany.

“From 9 October at 00.00, travellers from Georgia and Tunisia will only be permitted to enter Germany if they serve in an important role or if they have an urgent reason to travel,” the press release reads.

It is still unclear whether or not Germany will continue putting new entry bans and travel restrictions in place, or if/when German authorities will begin to ease the restrictions that have been in place for about 7 months now.

Related information

schengen flag

How Can A Country Join The Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area comprises 26 European countries that have abolished all passport and immigration controls at their mutual borders. It functions as a single country