Finland Prolongs Entry Restrictions Until 5 June

Finland is extending the country’s Covid entry restrictions again, valid until 5 June 2022, according to a press release published by the Finnish government.

The decision comes after the government’s session on 5 May.

According to the press release, the extended entry requirements for entrants born before 2006 include being fully vaccinated with an EU-approved vaccine program, providing proof of recovery from Covid-19 within 6 months of entry, or showing a Covid test certificate no older than 72 hours.

“People arriving from outside the EU and the Schengen area are required to present a valid certificate of a full course of vaccination or proof of recovery from COVID-19 within the past six months as a prerequisite for entry, apart from a few exceptions. This requirement applies to those born in 2006 or earlier,” the press release reads.

Exemptions to these rules include Finnish citizens, permanent residents of Finland, people traveling for essential reasons, or people traveling for compelling family or personal issues.

Also exempt from the travel restrictions include countries on the EU’s Covid Green List, which can be found by clicking this link.

These countries at the time of writing include:

  • Bahrain
  • Chile
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)
  • Colombia
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • Macao
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay

The countries listed above have been deemed by the European Council to be epidemiologically safe for travel regarding Covid-19.

“Entry into Finland is also permitted without restrictions for residents of the countries and regions on the EU’s green list. Countries on the green list mean countries with a sufficiently good epidemiological situation for which the Council of the European Union has decided to allow free travel to the EU,” the press release reads.

To read the Finnish Government’s press release, click this link.

To see the EU’s Green List and get more information from Reopen EU, click this link.

For more Schengen news and updates, click this link.

Related information

puzzle piece

How Do I Become A Citizen Of The EU?

Europe is a vibrant, diverse continent with a population of 500 million people. Becoming an EU citizen is a great way to experience the culture,