Europe without borders

The 27 Countries of the Schengen Area

The Schengen area guarantees unrestricted movement of people between 27 countries with more than 400 million inhabitants

Schengen Countries

The Schengen Area consists of most of the EU countries, except the UK and Ireland.  Some other countries not member of the European Union are also part of the Schengen zone. These countries are Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein.

Together the Schengen Area covers a free and borderless zone of 27 Schengen countries, granting unrestricted movement of people in the world´s largest visa free zone.

In this article

List of Schengen countries

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland