Malta Recognizes Vaccine Passports from Egypt and Lebanon from 6 September

Vaccine passports issued by the governments of Egypt and Lebanon will now be recognized by Malta, according to an announcement made by the officials Maltese travel website,

Malta began recognizing the vaccine passports from 6 September 2021, according to the announcement.

“The Health and Tourism Authorities notify that as from today, 6th September 2021, Malta will officially recognize the digital Covid-19 vaccine certificate of Egypt and the Lebanon COVID-19 vaccination record card,” the announcement reads.

The vaccines on the passports that will be recognized, however, need to be vaccines that are already recognized by the European Medicines Authority. Further, travelers entering Malta will need to have received their full dosage at least 14 days prior to arrival, according to the announcement.

“The vaccine certificates will be recognized by vaccines approved by the European Medicines Authority, which shall be a full course and 14 days after the last dose,” the announcement reads.

At the time of writing this article, Malta already recognizes the vaccine passports issued by the governments of the following countries, according to the announcement:

  • The European Union
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • The United Arab Emirates
  • The United Kingdom
  • Serbia
  • Gibraltar
  • Jersey
  • Guernsey
  • Qatar
  • Albania
  • Australia
  • The United States of America

“Currently, Malta is recognizing the digital vaccine certificates of the EU, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, Serbia, Gibraltar, Jersey, Guernsey, Qatar, Albania, Australia, and the United States of America record card,” the announcement reads.

Right now, Malta maintains a red, amber, and green list of countries regarding Covid-19. At the time of writing, there are no countries listed under red or amber.

Most countries worldwide are listed on the red list, meaning that travelers from those countries must present a valid vaccine passport with an EU-recognized vaccine if they are over the age of 12.

To see Malta’s list of red, amber, and green countries, click this link.

To read’s announcement, click this link.

Related information