Estonian PM: “People can come to Estonia to work and study from all countries”

Estonian authorities have made the decision to allow the residents of 14 “low-infection” third-countries enter from 7 July 2020, while people from all other countries can now come to work and study.

Residents of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay will be able to travel to Estonia and will not be subject to a 14-day quarantine.

Foreigners arriving in Estonia from non-EU countries that have been included in the list above will also not be subject to any movement restrictions.

The decision to begin reopening is part of Estonia’s attempt to restore their economy to its previous state before COVID-19 caused worldwide shutdowns.

“Today, we established the criteria for labour migration and learning mobility that provide security for students and entrepreneurs. The spread of COVID-19 has slowed down in Europe, but continues to grow globally. We want to protect the well-being and health of the people of Estonia, but also to ensure the functioning of the daily economy,” said Estonian Prime Minister Jüri Ratas.

However, Estonia has also opened up to anyone wanting to come and work or attend higher education or training.

“People can come to Estonia to work and study from all countries, but in the case of areas with a higher number of infections, restrictions will apply, for the fulfilment of which both the person arriving in Estonia and the person who invited them here are responsible. When it comes to travelling, we will follow the guidelines of the European Union,” said Ratas.

Residents of countries with higher COVID-19 infection rates are still able to come to Estonia but will need to endure a 14-day mandatory quarantine and two COVID-19 tests (one on the day of arrival and one on the 14th day). Estonia has defined “higher infection rates” as 16 in every 100,000.

In the case of workers coming to Estonia, they can begin working from the 15th day after arrival given that their second COVID-19 test results are negative.

“Both transport and living during the 14-day period of self-isolation must be ensured, and the person must pass two coronavirus tests, one of which is performed upon arrival in Estonia and the other on the 14th day of stay. The employee can start working in Estonia on the 15th day of their stay in Estonia if their second test is negative,” a press release from the Estonian government reads.

It is still unknown when residents of all countries will be able to enter Estonia without having to endure a quarantine upon arrival.

Related information